Modification

Modifying and sulfur removal of pig-iron

A significant practical experience of out-oven treatments have been saved up in iron manufacture; effective methods and device for a sulphur removal (desulphuration) and modifyings of fluidic pig-iron (fig.1) have been offered and realized in practise.

 

The volume of production of castings of the total, %

 

Ways of sulphur removal of pig-iron by submission of slag mixes on a bottom of a ladle pot, powder mixes and granules through the submersible molding box with a simultaneous blowing through neutral gas through the bottom door (a porous fuse), way of a powder wire (software) with various weighing materials’ introduction are also well known. The last variant — the use of the granulated magnesium as the weighing material with inert (overwhelming pyroelectric effect) additives — is the most simple, non-poluting and rather inexpensive way. The charge of magnesium on a sulphur removal of pig-iron during such a way is about 0, 3-1 kg per 1 t of melt, depending on the initial and required contents of sulfur.

 

The degree of desulfurization of Mg in the PP flow of the initial content of sulfur in the iron

 

Different ways of ‘late modifying’ are also use for spherulitic graphite’s reception (outside the oven): ‘a sandwich process’, ‘MDS — process’ (the modifying agent in a bucked kind moves to a ladle pot's bottom with the subsequent covering them with iron shaving or slabs), modifying in a jet of shielding gas, intrauniform modifying, treatment by a powder wire. Each of the specified processes has its advantages and lacks and is applied in a view of concrete conditions of manufacture. Modifying software is more widely used recently. That allows to lower pyroelectric effect, to increase «survivability» of the modifying agent and a level of its assimilation, to stabilize the graphite's structure and to improve technical and economics parameters of the process that is evidently submitted on fig. 2 and 3. At the same time such process differs relative simplicity and accuracy of a dosage. Weighing materials, made of alloys on a base of ferrosilicon with additives of calcium, barium, strontium and other active materials, are used for graphitizing treatment of pig-iron. Also the composite materials representing a mix of various components in parities, providing required characteristics of an end-product, can be used.

 

The dependence of the value of the diameter of the PP desulphurization

 

Parameters of a wire and technology of software input in fluidic pig-iron depend on makeup, weight, temperature of a processable material, and also on other features of concrete manufacture: type and a ladle capacity, a comparity of its height and diameter, presence of scoria and an opportunity of its disposal, time from the beginning of treatment up to a pouring-in of the last portion of fluidic metal, etc. The wire in diameter from 9 up to 16 mm and the speed of software input from 0, 5 up to 2 mm/s are usually used. The charge of software with сфередизирующими weighing materials is approximately 0, 5-1, 5% from the weight of fluidic pig-iron, and from 0, 1 up to 0, 3% with the graphitizing weighing materials.

The list of weighing materials of a powder wire

for modifying and a sulphur removal of pig-iron

  • A magnesium granulated (Mg);
  • Mg + CaCO3;
  • Mg + FeSi;
  • Mg + SiCa;
  • Mg + Fe;
  • Mg + MgO;
  • Mg + FeSi + TRE ;
  • FeSiMg + TRE;
  • SiCaMg + TRE;
  • Mg + graphite, etc.

Модифицирование металла

Модифицирование и десульфурация чугуна

В чугунолитейном производстве накоплен значительный практический опыт внепечной обработки; предложены и реализованы на практике эффективные методы и устройства для десульфурации и модифицирования жидкого чугуна (получения ЧШГ).

 

Объём производства отливок из ЧШГ от общего, %

Объём производства отливок из ЧШГ от общего, %

 

Известны способы десульфурации чугуна подачей шлаковых смесей на дно ковша, порошковых смесей и гранул через погружную фурму с одновременной продувкой нейтральным газом через днище (пористую пробку), путем введение порошковой проволоки (ПП) с различными наполнителями. Наиболее простым, экологически чистым, а также сравнительно недорогим является последний вариант с использованием в качестве наполнителя гранулированного магния с инертными (подавляющими пироэффект) добавками. Расход магния на десульфурацию чугуна при таком способе составляет 0,3-1 кг на 1 тн расплава в зависимости от исходного и требуемого содержания серы.

 

Зависимость степени десульфурации от расхода Mg в ПП от исходного содержания серы в чугуне

Зависимость степени десульфрации от расхода Mg в ПП от исходного содержания серы в чугуне

 

Для получения шаровидного графита также используют ряд способов «позднего модифицирования» (вне печи): «сэндвич-процесс», «тендши-ковер-процесс», «МДС-процесс», (модификатор в дробленном виде подается на дно ковша с последующим прикрытием их железной стружкой или плитами), модифицирование в струе защитного газа, внутриформенное модифицирование, обработка порошковой проволокой. Используют комбинированные способы получения ЧШГ. Каждый из указанных процессов имеет свои преимущества и недостатки и применяется с учетом конкретных условий производства. В последние годы все шире используется модифицирование ПП, что позволяет снизить пироэффект, увеличить «живучесть» модификатора и степень его усвоения, стабилизировать структура графита и существенно улучшить технико-экономические показатели процесса, что наглядно представлено на рис. 2 и 3. В то же время такой процесс отличается относительной простотой и точностью дозировки.

 

Зависимость стоимости десульфурации от диаметра ПП

Зависимость стоимости десульфрации от диаметра ПП

 

Для графитизирующей обработки чугуна используют наполнители из сплавов на основе ферросилиция с добавками кальция, бария, стронция, циркония и других активных материалов. Также могут использоваться композиционные материалы, представляющие собой смесь различных составляющих в соотношениях, обеспечивающих требуемые характеристики конечного продукта. Параметры проволоки, технология ввода ПП в жидкий чугун, зависят от состава, массы температуры обрабатываемого материала, а также других особенность конкретного производства: тип и емкость ковша, соотношение его высоты и диаметра, наличие шлака и возможность его удаления, время от начала обработки до заливки последней порции жидкого металла и т.п. Обычно используется проволока диаметром от 9 до 16 мм, скорость ввода ПП от 0,5 до 2 мм/с. Расход ПП со сферидизирующими наполнителями составляет приблизительно 0,5-1,5% от массы жидкого чугуна, а с графитизирующим наполнителем от 0,1 до 0,3%.

Перечень наполнителей порошковой проволоки для модифицирования и десульфурации чугуна:

  • Магний гранулированный (Mg)
  • Mg + CaCO3
  • Mg + FeSi
  • Mg + SiCa
  • Mg + Fe
  • Mg + MgO
  • Mg + FeSi + РЗМ
  • FeSiMgРЗМ
  • SiCaMgРЗМ
  • Mg + графит и др